Translations · Uncategorized

Caught in a tree

Part1

“One day I was in aforest, All day I hunted and got nothing. In the evening I came to the Mississippi. I said to myself: “It is late, I must go home”, but then I thought: “My wife is hungry  and she has no money. I must stay here till morning”. I saw a big tree and stopped under it. I was very tired. I lay down and was asleep. At 4 o’clock in the mornng a terrible noise awoke me. I looked up and high up the tree I saw a big nest with two young eagles in it. I remembered the Eanglish gentleman in New Orleans who wanted a pair of young eagles for the London Zoo.  He could pay good money. I said to myself: “I shall get up into that tree and get these young eagles.” In twօminutes I was up in the tree, but It was very difficult to get to the nest. When at last I got there and could look into the nest, I saw the young eagles and also some food for them-meat and fish. The old birds were not there. When I tried to take the youn eagles out of the nest. Suddenly I felt a terrible pain in the back of my head. I looked round and saw the mother eagle. And she was ready to make a second attack.  “It will be better to get down”, I thought and got down onto a lower branch. Here I set and rested. Suddenly I heard a terrible noisefrom below me. I looked and saw water all around me. There were many big trees between me and the river and now they all fell down one after onother into the water. But my tree stood in the water and shook. I understood what it was: a flood of Mississippi. “What could I do? I cannot swim, so I could only sit where I was.All night I waited for help. In the morning I saw a boat on the river, I cried “Help, help”. But they didn’t hear me. Later a second boat passed, then third, then fourth. Every time I cried out, but they didn’t hear me. And so passed my first day on the tree and I was very hungry.

Առաջին մաս

Մի օր ես անտառում էի: Ամբողջ օրը  որս արեցի և ոչինչ չկարողացա բռնել: Երեկոյան ես եկա Միսիսիպի: Ինքս ինձ ասացի.«Ուշ է, ես պետք է գնամ տուն»: Սակայն հետո մտածեցի. «Իմ կինը քաղցած է և փող չունի, իսկ ես մինչև աառավոտ պիտի մնամ այստեղ»: Ես տեսա մի մեծ ծառ և կանգնեցի նրա տակ: Շատ հոգնած էի, պառկեցի և քնեցի: Առավոտյան ժամը չորսին մի սարսափելի ձայն արթնացրեց ինձ: Ես նայեցի և ծառի վրա  տեսա մի մեծ բույն` երկու երիտասարդ արծիվներով: Հիշեցի Նյու Օռլեանի անգլիացի տղամարդուն, ով Լոնդոնի կենդանաբանական այգու համար մի զույգ երիտասարդ արծիվ  էր ուզում: Նա դրանց համար կարող էր լավ  փող տալ: Ես ասացի ինքս ինձ. «Կբարձրանամ այդ ծառի վրա և կբռնեմ արծվի ձագերին»: Երկու րոպեից ես ծառի վրա էի, բայց շատ դժվար էր հասնել բնին: Երբ վերջապես ես հասա այնտեղ և նայեցի բնի մեջ, տեսա երիտասարդ արծիվներին, նաև մի քիչ մթերք, միս և ձուկ: Ծեր թռչուններն այնտեղ չէին: Երբ ես փորձեցի երիտասարդ արծիվներին բնից դուրս հանել,  հանկարծ զգացի սարսափելի ցավ գլխիս ետևում: Ես նայեցի հետ ևտեսա մայր արծվին: Նա պատրաստվում էր երկրորդ հարձակմանը: «Ավելի լավ կլինի, որ իջնեմ ներքև»,- մտածեցի ես և իջա ներքևի ճյուղին: Այստեղ ես նստեցի ևհանգստացա: Հանկարծ  լսեցի, որ սարսափելի ձայնը կանչում է ինձ: Ես նայեցի և տեսա, որ ողջ շուրջս ջուր է: Իմ  և գետի միջև  կային բազմաթիվ մեծ ծառեր, և հիմա դրանք ընկնում էին մեկը մյուսի հետևից ջրի մեջ: Բայց իմ ծառը կանգնած մնում էր ջրիմեջ: Ես հասկացա, թե ինչ էր եղել. ջրհեղեղ էր Միսիսիպիում: Ի՞նչ կարող էի անել: Ես չէի կարող լողալ, այնպես որ  կարող էի նստել այնտեղ, որտեղ նստած էի: Ամբողջ գիշեր ես օգնության էի սպասում: Առավոտյան տեսա մի նավակ գետում ու գոռացի` օգնեցե՜ք, օգնեցե՜ք, բայց նրանք ինձ չլսեցին: Ավելի ուշ անցավ երկրորդ նավակը, հետո երրորդ նավակը, հետո չորրորդը: Ամեն անգամ ես գոռում էի, բայց նրանք ինձ չէին լսում: Ահա այսպես անցավ իմ առաջին օրը ծառի վրա, իսկ ես շատ քաղցած էի:

Leave a comment